Change in the Plan

Well, I possibly shouldn’t have written yesterday’s post until today.  Last night Dustin and I ran as planned and in training for the half coming up (2 weeks) and both came to terms with how unready we were.  Yes, we could do it and finish, definitely.  But we started talking about the possibility of stepping back to the 5K if possible.  I wasn’t sure if we’d be allowed to anyway, and so we decided that if we could we would, but if not we were both sticking it out for the half.  Know that we COULD finish the half, but that we would feel better about doing the 5K and would probably be able to continue building after the race that way.  To be honest, I was afraid that we would finish the half and we would be so sore from not being ready, that we wouldn’t run for the next month and then set ourselves back further.  OR worse, one or both of us would end up getting injured in upping our mileage so quick.  So when I checked and found out that we could indeed do the 5K with no major changes, but just by showing up at the 5K starting line… the decision was made.

So back to when I said originally about knowing yourself, and being okay with starting where you need to start… this is a perfect example.  I don’t have to feel guilty about switching the distance; there’s no shame in choosing what’s best for your life and body at the time (as long as it still involves remaining active!).  So it is official.  To be honest, I felt a little shameful admitting it to other people, but that is my issue- and so I am telling myself the same thing I am telling anyone who is reading this part of the entry!

I have 3.5 weeks until I am done with all my class work for my Masters degree and can take the summer off before starting my internship hours… and I have 2.5 weeks until the race.  I have 4.5 weeks until I am in a friend’s wedding in Chicago… where I will be giving a toast at a fancy wedding- which I’m excited about, but am completely unprepared for the toast at this point.  I also have two long research papers and one final to finish, among many other smaller assignments in my last 3.5 weeks of school.  I have stressed since January, about all of this… fitting it all in and feeling good about it.  And to piggy back off of my entry on my other blog (http://ajh922.wordpress.com/) I wrote yesterday, sometimes we have to make decisions that are healthy for us… even if they aren’t what we wish we could do.  Of course we wish we could do it all, perfectly.  But who am I kidding?  We don’t expect it from one another, why would we expect that from ourselves?  It’s just silly, and sets us up for disappointment and the failure that we may run from or fear so much.

Having said that, don’t misunderstand me.  I am not saying we should not challenge ourselves to a higher standard or goals… we most definitely should.  And we should expect to reach them… but we also should know when we are being rational and when we are not. 🙂

On to another note…

It is just about time for me to buy a new pair of running shoes.  I’m deciding now whether to get the same pair I have now, which I love more than I have EVER loved any running shoes, or to try out a new pair.  I have the New Balance Minimus with Vibram soles.  They are so light and fit my foot so well.  I love how they sound when I hit the ground.  They feel like I’m running barefoot, except with nothing stabbing the bottom of my foot. 🙂 For shoes that are so thin, they have had a long life and are just now to the point where they are worn out (I bought them in August).

So a part of me thinks why go on and try a different pair if I love these so much?? I still need to do some more research on runnersworld.com to see what reviewers are saying, etc.  Anyway… just what is in my mind in the shoe department at this point.

Edit: I just realized New Balance now has three levels of Minimus shoes… I have to check them out!  Interested in seeing them?

http://www.newbalance.com/nb-minimus/

Until tomorrow,

Run strong!

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Change in the Plan

  1. Jill says:

    Yes I love this Ash! Keep it up!

  2. Kelly says:

    Good decision on cutting down to the 5k. That will relieve a lot of stress. You have so much going on right now. And…you will be more than prepared to do well in the 5k!

    I need to start using pics in my blog

  3. Meghan says:

    I say buy the shoes you know you love! 🙂 I’m reading this blog too, just fyi.

    • AshleyHuntzinger says:

      I’m so glad! 🙂 And I am definitely considering it…though I have a few that I am researching too….. 🙂

  4. KC says:

    I’m really enjoying your new blog!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

