In Between Everything

The past week has been a busy one with my class coming to an end.  I managed to get in a few runs this week and will be doing the 5K at the Indy 500 Festival tomorrow, bright and early.  I love the runners expo… if you haven’t ever been to one, and you run, you are definitely missing out.  All of the major running companies are there with their new stuff, and lots of great people to learn from.  It’s like a candy store, for runners.  I’m also really looking forward to tomorrow because my cousins are going to be running the 5K with Dustin and me.  It will be the first time I have done the 5K instead of the half, but I’m looking forward to having a new experience.

Earlier this week, Dustin got new shoes- Merrell Road Gloves.   

They are a minimalist style (0 drop), and he made me completely jealous when he got them!  I am due a new pair of shoes, but am waiting a few weeks before making the purchase.  Also, I’m still deciding between the NB minimus or the Merrell Dash Gloves for women.  I think they are pretty similar to each other, and I am really pleased with the NB Minimus, but it’s worth exploring the other pair too.  I’m hoping to get some good info on both pairs tonight at the expo, or at least try them both on!

On another note, I’m a little bit worried that I won’t feel up to par tomorrow during the run.  I must have caught a cold in the last couple of days, and am fighting that off still.  Another reason that it’s good I’m doing the 5K this year instead of the half- I know I can push through 3.1 miles even sick, not sure I could do it on 13.1 miles.

I’m looking forward to finishing my class in a week and being able to continue to up my miles a little bit for my base for the summer.  I love running in the summer, for the same reasons people hate it.  It gets hot, and sometimes that’s uncomfortable, but I love it.  I love it because I feel so refreshed afterwards and I like that I don’t start cold.  I like the warmth on my skin when the sun is out.  I like the clear skies in the summer nights, when on a night run.  I like the simplicity of running in warm weather- more heat=less layers needed.  I also like it that I won’t be up against 115 degree weather like I have been the past two summers- Phoenix summers aren’t the best to run in… and even though humidity has already hit me hard and will continue to, at least the temperatures aren’t at dangerous levels to even go for a walk outside!

I love how running connects us with other individuals and often is a start to a friendship.  I work with a girl who I started talking to because she was talking about some upcoming races.  Now she has joined our team for the Indy Color Run this July, and today asked to add me on FB.  Sounds silly maybe, but since being back in Indiana, I’ve thought it would be nice to build some new connections and relationships and because of time mostly have been limited in doing so.  Plus as most of you know, it’s a lot harder to do once you aren’t in a school atmosphere where you are seeing the same people every single day and who are living the same life.  Because even though as adults we work with people every day, we all have different lives and different priorities.  I have a few friends in this area who I have known for a long time, and it’s not that I’m lessening those.  But we all grow and change over time, and so it’s normal to get to know new people who we share commonalities with now, as our lives continue and to still keep those close who have always been.

Not sure if I mentioned this before, but another exciting thing coming up to do with the Indy Color Run is that it will be both of my nieces’ first race.  Mia is 10 and Brynna 9; I am so excited to share the experience with them and to help get them ready.  I expect there to be challenges along the way, but to be a part of exposing a new thing to them is something I am so thankful to be able to do.  They may love it or hate it… but they’ll have done it, either way.

 (Me and Mia at our Easter celebration this year)  (And Brynna at our other Easter get together)

This is just a minor clip on some happenings in my world of running…. Will post pics soon of pre and post run tomorrow!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

