New Shoes

It’s been a while… but I’ve been here.

Last post was a recap of the Indy 500 5K.

Since that time, I haven’t done as much running as I’d like, but I have done a broad mixture of other sports. I have run some (got in one trail run which I loved- first ever besides when running on the mountains in Phoenix), hit some golf balls on the range and played some tennis.

I was sick starting a week before the Indy500 run, and for the next three weeks! The following weekend, I was in a wedding in Chicago, so spent the weekend up there and by the end of that weekend, I was coughing so much, that I was very concerned I may ruin the wedding by hacking throughout the ceremony (luckily, I didn’t cough even once- all thanks to the cough drops that I shoved in my mouth while walking down the aisle). I am pretty sure whatever I had was at least bordering bronchitis or pneumonia based on the fact that I gave a friend the same sickness, and she was diagnosed with pneumonia. I took the long road on recovering, no doctor, just OTC meds and rest. One week after the wedding, I was exceptionally better and now I am completely over it, and am just left with my allergies (Hooray)! All this considered and life in general, I have taken it pretty easy when it comes to my activities.

A while back I wrote about possible shoes I was looking into for my next pair. Well, even after all the researching and trying on, I didn’t get any of those. This past weekend, Dustin and I went to a shoe store to get him some flip-flops, and instead found a great deal on new running shoes for us both- buy one get one half off, plus their price was already low. We both got the New Balance 730-

  (The shoe on the left is the men’s and is dark blue with lime green accent and the shoe on the right is the women’s and is light gray with neon yellow and bright blue accents)

Though it’s hard to tell from the pictures, this is a minimalist shoe at the fraction of the cost of the shoes I was going to buy (probably would have paid for the Vibram soles on the other). New Balance has been in the game for a long time (since 1934, according to Wikipedia). It has a 4mm heel to toe drop (which is lower than the NB Minimus trail shoes I run on now) and weighs 5.4 oz (for the women’s) and 7.3 oz (for the mens). The top feels very airy, and breathes easily, plus the toe is wide, which is nice for a natural feel.

I will be running in them for the first time tonight, and hope to like them. We got both pairs together for less than the price of either shoe that we were both looking at. There are mixed reviews, but most of what I found was positive, and I heard they are re-releasing these shoes next season at a higher price.

Here is a review: http://www.runblogger.com/2012/02/new-balance-730-update-25-solid-miles.html

I’m excited summer weather is here to stay for warm runs. I’m excited to get in some miles on my new shoes. I’m excited to continue progressing in tennis (I used to play a lot, but it’s been a couple of years until this spring). I’m excited to continue learning the how-to on golf, and to get to the point that I can actually play instead of just hitting balls at the range. I’m also hoping to learn to ski this year, or attempt to learn it again, and am excited about that (and a little nervous).

My nieces have started running with my sister in preparation for the Color Run in July and so far it has been pretty funny to hear about. One was ready to go, until they actually started running and then she complained. The other was disappointed when she found out that running three miles took longer than three minutes (she assumed because it takes a minute to drive a mile, that it would be the same to run it), and now she’s having no problems when she goes out to do her runs with her mom, sister and brother. I’m excited to share their first race with them, whether they are happy or complaining come race day (but hopefully, they will have gotten over all of their complaints)! 🙂

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

